Issue with button appending animation (scope issue?)

- - - - -

2 replies to this topic
Hello all. I am flummoxed here. I am not good at coding, trying to do this for the first time really. I have been banging my head against the wall trying to get this thing working. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Background:
I am doing a little quiz app with some fancy tweens. Some will be reused, some will not. You start the quiz by clicking a button, things animate in. Then you answer a few questions, and then it tally's your responses and outputs the corresponding result. Essentially, I have four animation sections. An intro, a welcome screen, the questions, and the final answer. I have defined four global animation containers for each section (so I can reverse some of the animations easily from other functions--such as animate out the intro screen text and animate in the questions).

The transitions from the welcome screen (after pressing the start button) to go to the questions section (called secondScreen) is where I am stuck.

Problem:
What I am running into is that when I press the button, the first screen animation reverses properly, but no matter how I try to attach a new tween to the "secondScreen" timelineLite object, it just won't work (unless it is outside of any function). Isn't it possible to append a tween to a timelineLite object by clicking a button? The code so far is below for reference.

To answer a few basic questions: the objects are all on the stage directly. Each has the appropriate instance name (hence appending the animation to secondScreen works when put directly outside the button). no errors on compile. And it doesn't seem to matter what object on the stage I am trying to tween (in this case the container for showing how many questions there are and what step the user is on).

import com.greensock.*; 
import com.greensock.easing.*;

//******************
//global variables
//******************

var tallyA:Number = 0;
var tallyB:Number = 0;